SEC Extends Membership Invitations to University of Oklahoma and University of Texas


SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey speaks to reporters during the NCAA college football Southeastern Conference Media Days Monday, July 19, 2021, in Hoover, Ala. (AP Photo/Butch Dill)

Nashville, Tenn. (WKRN)- The Southeastern Conference is officially expanding. On Thursday, the Presidents and Chancellors of the SEC voted unanimously to extend membership invitations to the University of Oklahoma and the University of Texas. The two universities will join the SEC effective July 1, 2025, with competition to begin in all sports for the 2025-26 academic year.

“Today’s unanimous vote is both a testament to the SEC’s longstanding spirit of unity and mutual cooperation, as well as a recognition of the outstanding legacies of academic and athletic excellence established by the Universities of Oklahoma and Texas,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. “I greatly appreciate the collective efforts of our Presidents and Chancellors in considering and acting upon each school’s membership interest.”

OU and UT now become the SEC’s 15th & 16th members.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss