SEC announces football scheduling adjustments

Sports

ATLANTA, GA – DECEMBER 07: An ‘SEC’ logo is seen on an end zone pylon before the Missouri Tigers take on the Auburn Tigers during the SEC Championship Game at Georgia Dome on December 7, 2013 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

BIRMINGHAM, AL (WKRN) – Due to an increase in positive tests and contact tracing, the SEC is making some adjustments to its football schedule.

Two games have been postponed as a result of individuals quarantining due to COVID-19.

Vanderbilt at Missouri was postponed from October 17 to December 12 following issues with the Commodore football team. That was the first SEC game postponed until later in the week when LSU at Florida was also postponed. That game has been moved to December 12 as well.

The University of Florida deemed it necessary for an extended pause of team activities at the advice of local health officials meaning they won’t play again until October 31.

The SEC announced today its game against Missouri scheduled for October 24 will now be pushed to the following Saturday on the SEC Network Alternate channel at 6:30 p.m. CT. Florida will take two weeks off to get its COVID-19 situation under control.

In addition, the Kentucky at Missouri game originally scheduled for October 31 will now be played a week earlier on October 24 at 3 p.m. CT on the SEC Network. The Georgia at Kentucky game on October 24 is rescheduled for October 31 at 11 a.m. CT on the SEC Network.

Also, the South Carolina at LSU game scheduled for October 24 will still be played on the same day, but will now be played at 6 p.m. CT on ESPN.

SEC Football Schedule Adjustments:

  • Kentucky at Missouri moves from Oct. 31 to Oct. 24 at 4 pm ET/3 pm CT on SEC Network
  • South Carolina at LSU remains on Oct. 24, changes game time to 7 pm ET/6 pm CT on ESPN
  • Georgia at Kentucky moves from Oct. 24 to Oct. 31 at Noon ET/11 am CT on SEC Network
  • Missouri at Florida moves from Oct. 24 to Oct. 31 at 7:30 ET/6:30 CT on SEC Network Alternate
  • Vanderbilt at Missouri moves from Oct. 17 to Dec. 12, time and network TBA
  • LSU at Florida moves from Oct. 17 to Dec. 12, time and network TBA

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ



SEC Schedule

SEC Twitter

Don't Miss