NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Four local athletes were honored with Mr. Football awards Wednesday afternoon in a luncheon hosted by the Titans.

Smyrna linebacker Arion Carter won the award for Division I, Class 6A. D.J. Merriweather, Clarksville Academy’s quarterback, garnered the honor for Division II, Class A.

In Division II, Class AA, Lipscomb Academy wide receiver Maureice “Junior” Sherrill took home the award. Sherrill had 11 receptions for 141 yards and 3 touchdowns, and a rushing score in the Mustangs state title win.

MBA quarterback Marcel Reed won the Mr. Football award for Division II, Class AAA. Reed went 16 of 24 for 263 yards and 5 scores in the Big Red’s 38-34 loss to Baylor in the state championship.

“This is such an outstanding honor for all 30 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards,” said Mark Reeves, Executive Director of the TSSAA. “They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements.”

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2022 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top football players in each of the nine classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. The top kickers in the state were also recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school’s classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.


Division I, Class 1A
Jackson Cassidy, McKenzie

Division I, Class 2A
Josh Jackson, Tyner

Division I, Class 3A
Lance Williams, Alcoa

Division I, Class 4A
Marcellus Jackson, Fulton

Division I, Class 5A
De’Sean Bishop, Karns

Division I, Class 6A
Arion Carter, Smyrna

Division II, Class A
D.J. Merriweather, Clarksville Academy

Division II, Class AA
Maureice “Junior” Sherrill, Lipscomb Academy

Division II, Class AAA
Marcel Reed, Montgomery Bell Academy

Oziel Hernandez, Germantown