Tenn. Senate Republicans elect new leaders

Tennessee News

The Republican-dominated Tennessee Senate selected its new top leaders Monday afternoon, including majority leader and caucus chair, but they had an unannounced visit beforehand from Governor-elect Bill Lee. 

Jack Johnson of Williamson County won the majority leader position voted on by the 28-Republicans in the 33-member Senate. 

“It’s not a time to rest on our laurels,” he told the meeting of the Republican caucus members.  “I am confident that the future holds many challenges – some seen, some unforeseen, but we are prepared to meet those challenges head on as long as we stand firm on conservative principles.” 

Longtime Kingston Senator Ken Yager was elected Republican Caucus Chair. 

Both positions play key roles in how legislation moves through the legislature. 

Before the votes were counted, Republican Governor-elect Bill Lee made his unannounced visit to the caucus. 

“It’s very important to be here,” said Lee. “I want this body to know that I want to work with them, and I want to hear from them.” 

Lee will be inaugurated as the 50th Governor of Tennessee on Saturday, January 19. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

Trending Stories