NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) — Federal money has been approved and will be made available for Tennessee residents in certain counties to supplement recovery efforts in areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds and a tornado from early March.

FEMA announced the public assistance federal funding is available to the state, eligible local governments and certain nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities in dozens of counties across Tennessee, including those in West and Middle Tennessee.

The counties affected include: Benton, Bledsoe, Campbell, Carroll, Cheatham, Clay, Crockett, Davidson, Decatur, Dickson, Fentress, Gibson, Giles, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Lake, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Macon, Madison, Marion, Meigs, Monroe, Montgomery, Moore, Obion, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Rhea, Robertson, Stewart, Sumner, Tipton, Wayne and White.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

📧 Have breaking come to you: Subscribe to News 2 email alerts

Andrew D. Friend has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.