The medical marijuana bill is back in Tennessee.  

Republican Senator Janice Bowling of Tullahoma, filed the first legislation of the year Monday. It’s considered the most comprehensive form of medical marijuana legislation the state has seen. And every form of pot is on the table, from the seeds to what you smoke.   

If a doctor diagnoses a patient with one of several conditions, the patient would be allowed to use the drug. The bill lists around 20 ailments which would qualify.   

It also states individual city governments would have the right to outlaw the sale, or cultivation of cannabis by a two-thirds vote.   

The legislation sets a target date for July 2020, but this type of bill has failed last year in the state legislature. Governor Bill Lee has voiced skepticism and right now the bill has no sponsor in the Tennessee House of Representatives. Lawmakers have concerns about enforcing pro-pot laws if they contradict federal law.  

“There is a fear in the legislature of what the federal government is doing,” says state representative, Jeremy Faison. “That fear is predicated on law enforcement saying, we don’t know how to uphold the constitution and enforce state law. I understand that, I think that’s what’s holding us back right now.”  

The proposal also permits the cultivation and sale of medical marijuana throughout Tennessee.   

Qualifying medical conditions:  

  • Cancer  

  • Glaucoma  

  • Epilepsy  

  • HIV/AIDS  

  • Crohn’s disease  

  • Muscular sclerosis  

  • Opioid addiction  

  • Renal failure  

  • Severe nausea or chronic pain  

  • Any medical condition producing cachexia, persistent muscle spasm or seizures  

  • Post traumatic stress syndrome  

  • Chronic radiculopathy  

  • Severe psoriasis  

  • Psoriatic arthritis  

  • Complex pain syndrome, including trigeminal neuralgia, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), and Parkinson’s disease  

  • End-of-life pain management or palliative care  

Patients under the age of 18 who are suffering from the following conditions also qualify:  

  • Cerebral palsy  

  • Cystic fibrosis  

  • Osteogenesis imperfecta  

  • Muscular Dystrophy  

  • Terminal conditions  

  • Any additional conditions approved by a state commission